Through Her Eyes by Deborah Camp (Review)

image.jpeg

Through Her Eyes

The Mind’s Eye Series

Book Four

Deborah Camp

Genre: Romantic Suspense/Paranormal Romance

Date of Publication: July 24, 2017

ASIN: B071KC41NB

Number of pages: 415

Word Count: 92418

Cover Artist: Patricia Schmitt

Tagline: She can see evil and evil can see her

Book Description:

Psychic detectives Levi Wolfe and Trudy Tucker comb the streets of New Orleans in search of a serial killer who has claimed 19 lives and counting.

The suspect was in an accident almost two years ago that left him paralyzed in a wheel chair, but the murders continue. Is he faking it or has he enlisted a protégé to continue his reign of terror?

As Levi and Trudy draw closer to the truth, Trudy discovers new and unsettling psychic abilities in herself.

Amazon

Book Trailer: https://youtu.be/_JwHgbn0T5c

Excerpt:

“So, tell me about your experience,” Trudy said, sitting next to Levi.

“It was strange. Very strange. I was contacted – during a business meeting, mind you – by the dead son of the new contractor I was speaking with in my office. This kid – a salvage yard murder victim – popped into my head and started yelling at me. I tried to shut him out, but I couldn’t. I had to actually stop the damned meeting and tell the man that his deceased son was demanding an audience. Gonzo thought I’d lost my noodle.”

“Good Lord!” She covered her parted lips with her hand. “I’d say that was a heck of a coincidence, but . . .it seems to be so much more than that.”

“Yeah, right.” He sat back and drummed his fingers on the table for a few seconds. “Anyway, the kid – Clayton Nelson – was hitchhiking in New Orleans when a guy in a pickup stopped for him. He couldn’t see much of the man’s face because he wore a ball cap and sunglasses. He had a mustache that looked fake to me. He used the ploy of something being wrong with his truck to get the kid to look under the hood and then he knocked him out with a blow to the head. Clay came to in a basement, his wrists and ankles bound with plastic ties and chains.” He shuttered his gaze from her. “That’s where he was murdered.” A few seconds ticked by before his lashes lifted to reveal his dark blue eyes that never missed much. “You’ve been in contact with the murderer already, haven’t you?”

Her heart jolted. He was uncanny. “I was in contact with someone who’s warped. I don’t know if it was the salvage yard killer.”

“Was he murdering someone?”

“Something. A cat.”

Levi’s upper lip lifted in disgust. “Jesus.”

“Yeah. He was practicing, I think.” She shuddered and blocked out the memory.

“The kid in my head showed me a compass and pointed to the N on it.”

She gasped at the reference. “Your true north?”

“Bingo. His way of telling me that you were already part of this.”

She reached for her glass of juice. They must be destined to examine this case. How else could she explain what happened to Levi and what she’d already experienced?


About the Author:

Deborah Camp is the author of more than 50 romances, both contemporary and historical. She received the first Janet Dailey Award (given to a romance novel that best addressed a social problem). “My Wild Rose” dealt with battered women and children.

A bestselling author, Deborah’s books have been praised by reviewers, bloggers, and readers who love complex characters and clever plotting. She always mixes in a bit of humor, even in her romantic suspense novels.

Communicating with readers and other writers is something she enjoys, so don’t be shy about visiting her online. If you post a review of her books, you’ll probably receive a personal “thanks” even if the review isn’t entirely favorable!

Deborah lives in Tulsa, OK where she is continually inspired by real cowboys, real Indians, and real heroes and heroines.

http://www.deborah-camp.com

http://wwww.facebook.com/officialdeborahcamp

http://www.pinterest.com/debbycamp44/

www.deborahcampwritersdesk.blogspot.com

www.twitter.com/authordebcamp

 


Tour giveaway

5 / $20 Amazon gift cards

Click here to enter to win!


Review for Through Her Eyes

I picked up this review for the tour solely for the reason of my love of true crime (and yes, the psychology behind serial killers.) Deborah Camp did not disappoint! Not only has she written such an intensely emotional book, the love story between Trudy Tucker and Levi Wolfe was so believable and so well structured. I was impressed by how much Camp intertwines the two and makes it an immediate page turner (and breath holder, to say the least!) Trudy’s psychic power created an almost magical aspect to the story as well. This was my first Deborah Camp novel, but it definitely will not be my last. I look forward to her next book!

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Only For You By Beverly Kendall

Only for You
Beverley Kendall
(Unforgettable You #1)
Publication date: December 9th 2013
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

They say there is a thin line between love and hate.

This is what happens when that line is crossed.

College freshman Olivia Montgomery is thrilled at the chance to start over, escape the rumors that plagued her in high school. And she can finally put her juvenile crush, Zachary Pearson, where he belongs—in her past. Then her unrequited love strolls into her French class, shattering Olivia’s newfound peace, and the feelings she’d thought buried for good come rushing back. Now she can’t shake her unwanted attraction to the one guy who can twist her stomach into knots with just a smile…but has never given her the time of day.

Zach’s good looks may have always gotten him his pick of girls, but it’s the star quarterback’s skill on the football field that gives him his pick of the Big Ten colleges. To escape the crushing demands of his win-at-all-costs father, Zach opts for a private university in upstate New York where…his present and past collide. And the one girl he’s always wanted but can’t have—and a class trip to Paris—turn out to be the ultimate game changer that has him breaking every one of his rules.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

Grab your copy today for FREE!!

EXCERPT:

Seconds after Rebecca disappears around the corner, I feel a presence behind me.

Like right behind me.

I turn, expecting to see Scott, who I’m sure is eager to offer an explanation to what I’d just witnessed. I couldn’t have been more wrong. The guy hovering behind me is none other than Zach, his expression just as grim as when I saw him minutes ago. Scratch that, grimmer.

I actually take a step back, I’m so shocked to see him this close, and bump into the wall behind me. Zach takes a step closer and braces his forearm, exactly the way Scott had done, on the wall at the side of my head. He bends his head so his mouth is near my ear. I drag in a breath of air and with it the subtlety of his cologne and warm male skin. Being this close to him after so many weeks is like a kick of excelsior.

“Who’s the guy?” he asks, his voice a low rumble in my ear.
It takes everything in me not to shiver as the sound vibrates down my spine.

“A friend.”

His mouth kicks up at the corner into a smirk.

“Right.”

His tone is so obviously disbelieving, now it requires Herculean self-control not to smack him even though I miss him so much my heart hurts.

“Anyway,” he continues, his eyes narrowing and growing hard as flint as he stares down at me. “Here’s the thing. If you’re trying to make me jealous, you’re wasting your time. I wouldn’t want you to put yourself out too much tonight, so remember that and go easy on the guy, ‘kay?”

Raising his head, he flashes me a tight, icy smile and pushes off the wall as he continues to hold my gaze. In his final gesture of arrogance, he runs the back of his index finger gently down my cheek while his jaw ticks. “Have a nice evening, Liv.” With that, he turns and saunters back down the hall.

 

Author Bio:

Beverley discovered her love of books while growing up in Ontario, Canada. With her love of books and romance, she always wished that everyone would find their happily ever after. She currently writes sexy historical, new adult and contemporary romances.

As the mother of one too bright and mischievous young boy, she pulls full-time duty on all fronts. When she’s not writing full-time or mothering, she’s probably reading or knitting and dreaming of a time when she’ll have time for her favorite hobbies: crocheting and sewing.

Beverley has lived on two continents, in three countries, two provinces, and four states. She stopped her nomadic existence and settled in the southeast. All things artistic feed her creative passion, but none more than writing. Readers can visit her at: beverleykendall.com.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

A Final Deal by Nadia Lee

A Final Deal
Nadia Lee
Publication date: August 15th 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

One thing I’ve never lacked in life is money. I was born to it. I’ve made it hand over fist. I have more than I know what to do with.

But all that money couldn’t give me Faith Mortimer, a damaged heiress with secrets of her own. I found her irresistible two years ago, and would’ve laid my empire at her feet…until she betrayed me.

Now she barges into my office, offering marriage, ostensibly to help me fulfill the conditions of my father’s hateful deal. Although I toss her out, I’m curious. Once I realize how desperate she is, I make a counteroffer that leaves her vulnerable and defenseless.

However, I never counted on my own machinations leaving me exposed in return…and both our hearts are going to break before this is over…

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

EXCERPT:

A small lamp in the living room’s on, and I frown. Did Blake forget to turn it off? I take a bottle of water and walk over, then stop.

He’s stretched out on the couch, tablet in hand, a finger of scotch on the table in front of him. All he’s got on are the loose black pants from earlier and a pair of glasses. The effect is devastating, all the more because he doesn’t mean it to be—a perfect combination of lickable body and amazing brain. His torso is totally bare, his shoulders broad, chest thick. His abs are ridged with clear definition even in repose, and his arms are lean and muscled and eminently nibbleable. The dusting of dark hair below the navel disappears underneath the waistband of his pants, and I pull my lips in, wishing I could do more than just look.

He glances up from his tablet.

I flush, embarrassed at being caught staring. “I wanted to get something to drink.” I gesture at the kitchen. “Why are you still up?”

“Couldn’t sleep, so I was reviewing a few proposals.”

“I see.” I clear my throat. “Well…think I’ll go back to sleep now,” I say, then stop. He knows I wasn’t sleeping.

He sits up and places his tablet on the coffee table. “Before you go… About what you said during dinner—”

I raise a hand. “Don’t.”

“Faith—”

“It’s in the past, and I don’t want to talk about it again, Blake.”

His eyes get that stubborn look I’m all too familiar with. He had the same expression when he asked me out that first time and I declined. I had an early shift the next day and I didn’t want to waste my time with a guy who was in Vegas for a couple of days on business.

I put the bottle of water next to his tablet. “I mean it. You got all your questions answered.” My heart thuds. This is my chance. I place my palm against his chest, then push him against the back of the sofa. His skin’s hot underneath mine, and I lick my lips. “The only thing I want out of your mouth is something filthy. Otherwise…”

He drops his gaze to my lips, his throat working. But the words out of his mouth are anything but filthy. “I meant what I said in New York.”

This man is slaying me, little by little. “I know.” I place my left knee by his right hip. “That’s why I’m taking advantage of you late at night—to use you for sex.” I swing my right knee over to where it’s flush against his left hip.

One dark eyebrow quirks up. “Is that so?”

“Uh-huh. You’re going to be my boy toy and you don’t owe me anything for what I’m about to do to you.”

 

Author Bio:

NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestselling author Nadia Lee writes sexy, emotional contemporary romance. Born with a love for excellent food, travel and adventure, she has lived in four different countries, kissed stingrays, been bitten by a shark, ridden an elephant and petted tigers.

Currently, she shares a condo overlooking a small river and sakura trees in Japan with her husband and son. When she’s not writing, she can be found reading books by her favorite authors or planning another trip.

Stay in touch with her via her website http://www.nadialee.net/ or her blog http://www.nadialee.net/blog/

Website / Blog / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Disciplined By The Duke by Alyson Chase

Can she succumb to the hot sting of his hand and the gentleness 
of his kisses without revealing her true identity and darkest secrets? 
DISCIPLINED BY THE DUKE
Lords of Discipline #1
Alyson Chase
Releasing Aug 15, 2017
Swerve
The day her sister murdered their abusive father, Elizabeth Wilcox stopped being a
gentleman’s daughter. Willing to do anything to save her sister from the
hangman’s noose, now she is a spy… A servant. A liar. A thief. A submissive.
Masquerading as a parlor maid and entrenched in the Duke of Montague’s estate, Liz is
willing to risk all to uncover the secrets that would save her sister. But
submitting to the duke’s peculiar brand of discipline surprises her with a
heady mixture of pleasure and pain. Eager to relinquish control of her messy
life, Liz soon craves the rough hands of Montague and his powerful, passionate
attentions. Can she succumb to the hot sting of his hand and the gentleness of
his kisses without revealing her true identity and darkest secrets? And what
punishment will she face when he realizes her betrayal?
 
Alyson
Chase 
writes historical romances that are just a
bit…naughty. She is a former attorney, and thought that her flair for dramatic
and sexy writing was seriously undervalued in her legal career. She also writes
under the name Allyson Charles. 
 
She
lives in Northern California where the incredible weather and natural beauty so
far outweigh the overcrowding and congested freeways. Also, the food in the Bay
Area rocks. 
If you
want to know when the next book is coming out, visit her at website and sign up for her newsletter.
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Excerpt

“Look at me.” His voice was quiet. Kind. But no less commanding than when he gave orders to his steward. Or his dogs.
Her gaze rose over hard thighs, the fall of his trousers, the flat expanse of his stomach, and the wider expanse of his chest. She looked up until his eyes captured hers and held on. Her breath caught in her throat. His eyes weren’t the gray of unyielding stone anymore, but rather the shifting silvers and subdued greens of an ocean tossing in a storm.
“I don’t make a habit out of breaking anyone’s, anything’s, spirit.” Dropping to a squat, Montague ran his fingers under Reggie’s jaw.
The heat from his body, his sudden nearness, curled around Liz. She took a deep breath to calm her racing heart. But she was swamped with his scent, and her pulse ratcheted up even higher.
“Sometimes animals need to be molded so they can become their best selves. Guidance, a firm hand, training.” His breath bloomed across her cheek with every word. “My horse, Darkwing, has as much spirit as he did as a foal. I merely redirected it to productive channels. Now, he and I have a partnership. We each trust the other.” His lips quirked. “More so than I do most men.”
Digging his fingers into the soft fur at the back of Reggie’s neck, Montague gently lifted the pup. “Now if this fellow doesn’t wish to be molded that is his prerogative. He might not make the grade for a work dog at my estate, but he will make someone a lovely pet.”
Reggie yipped, and the duke lowered him to the ground. The puppy coiled around himself like a snake, obviously exhausted from his day. Montague kept his hand on the dog, his palm almost large enough to span Reggie’s entire back. He ran his long, tapered fingers slowly through the puppy’s coat, and Reggie gave one more sleepy yip before tucking his nose under his tail.
“You seem to have an affinity for the scamp.” Montague gently rubbed the tip of Reggie’s ear between his thumb and forefinger. Liz’s own earlobe tingled. “Perhaps you’d want him as a pet.”
Her heart twisted. She’d love to spoil a dog. But it wasn’t to be. And the duke should have known that.
“Where would I keep him?” She hated to do it. It would ruin the moment, these amazing few minutes when the duke spoke to her like she was a real person, an equal, not the hired help. She’d forgotten what it felt like to be able to sit without fear of violence or discovery. To not have every moment revolve around a job for Westmore, scraping together enough money for food for her and Amanda, finding enough coal to keep her warm at night.
This was like an afternoon of days past, when gentlemen treated her with respect and she wanted for nothing. She felt like her old self, if only for a moment. The decadence of it almost made her dizzy.
But being the old Miss Elizabeth Wilcox was a luxury she could no longer afford.
So she twisted the blade, just a little. Just enough to sting. “Mr. Todd doesn’t allow servants to have pets. And if Reggie followed me around on my duties I think he’d probably make more of a jumble than I could clean in a day.” Taking a deep breath, she clenched her stomach. “It doesn’t make sense for a chambermaid to have a puppy.”
And there it was. That small flicker. The stormy sea hardening back into granite. Montague had forgotten himself. Or, more accurately, forgotten her. Forgotten how low she was in relation to him.
Her lungs burned with the effort to keep her breathing steady. The reminder stung more than she’d expected. The duke would probably forget his momentary lapse in the time it took him to return to his house.
It would take her longer.
And she couldn’t keep forgetting who she was, why she was here. It hurt too much when reality crashed back in. So she dug the knife a little deeper into her side.
Picking up the sleeping puppy from her lap, she laid him next to Reggie. Standing, she brushed at her skirts, plucking an errant strand of fur from her apron. “Now if you will excuse me, Your Grace, I have some chamber pots I need to empty.”
Without looking to see whether she had shocked him, Liz turned on her heel and made her way back to the side door of Hartsworth. The servants’ entrance.
It wasn’t until she’d refilled Molly’s bucket and lugged it halfway up the stairs that she realized she’d forgotten to curtsy before leaving the duke. She could only hope her disgraceful chamber pot reference had distracted the man too much for him to notice.

Blood Money by Cynthia Rayne

Blood Money
Cynthia Rayne
(Lone Star Mobster #3)
Publication date: August 14th 2017
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense

How far would you go to protect someone you love?

When Jasper Tan joined the Lone Star Mafia, his family said he’d dishonored the Tan name and turned their backs on him. Jasper vowed to never let anyone get close again—until he met Victoria Hale. Vick is a hacker and the outfit’s secret weapon when it comes to digging up dirt on folks. They’ve become the best of friends and Lord knows Jasper wants much more, but he can risk letting her in?

Vick puts her family first as well. Her older brother, Jackson, has been fighting an addiction for years and she’s stayed by his side, even when their parents gave up on him. Jackson owed money to some dangerous people. To save him, Vick compromised her morals by striking a scandalous arrangement with Simon Caldwell.

Infatuation has turned to obsession, and Simon is a cold-hearted, ruthless bastard who’ll stop at nothing to keep Vick. Can Jasper protect her? And will these friends become lovers?

Goodreads / Amazon

 

Author Bio:

Cynthia Rayne is a USA TODAY bestselling author of the Lone Star Mobster Series, Let it Ride Series, and the Four Horsemen MC Series. While Cynthia was born and raised a damn Yankee in Ohio, her parents hail from Dixie, and she grew up on homemade buttermilk biscuits and southern wisdom. In her spare time, she enjoys shopping, reading way too many romance novels, and drinking a truly obscene amount of coffee.

Want FREE short stories?

Become a VIP Reader ➜http://eepurl.com/cKmtIr

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Crescendo By Lana Sky

Crescendo.jpg

Crescendo
by Lana Sky
(Beautiful Monsters, #1)

Publication date: May 13th 2017
Genres: New Adult, Romance, Suspense

Description:

You don’t become the fiancé of one of the most powerful crime lords in the city without understanding exactly how gritty and depraved the world truly is… and how to thrive in the inferno.

After five years spent under his controlling thumb, Daniela knows her position with a man like Vincent Stacatto is precarious, but as long as she plays by the rules of his “game”, she’s safe…

Until she’s taken by the devil.

Kidnapped by a rival boss, Daniela becomes a pawn between two powerful forces, and just another casualty in a bloody game of chess. But to get to the top, and stay at the top, you have to fight dirty and hold nothing back, because the most dangerous piece on the board isn’t the King.

Contains Mature subject matter not suitable for those under 18.


Review for Crescendo

Crescendo was a fast paced story that captured my attention straight off the runway. It was full of twists and turns that led me to turn the page over and over again. Lana Sky brings a variety of intrigue and mystery to her novel, and I must admit I was so impressed with how talented her voice read while I learned about her characters.

Daniela’s world, the criminal world she is forced to endure, is not for the faint of heart. But she’s a fighter, and so is our hero. I enjoyed how dark the characters could go, and how each of them brought one another back from that darkness. I will definitely dive back into the world Sky has created with her next novels.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Dark Rooms by Sionna Fox

image-2.jpeg

Dark Rooms

Sionna Fox

Genre:  Erotic Romance

Publisher:  Boroughs Publishing Group

Date of Publication:  27 July 2017

ISBN:  978-1-944262-82-2

ISBN: 978-1-548299-49-1

Word Count: 40,000 words.

Cover Artist:  Boroughs Publishing Group

Book Description: 

When they met on Friday night, he dominated her. When he walks into her photography classroom on Wednesday morning, the question is, who’s in charge. 

NO SAFE WORDS 

Women beg Wes Oliver to dominate them in darkness. In the light, he’s finally getting his life back on track. College is priority number one—until he finds his new professor is the delicious Sub who ran out on him last weekend, a brilliant and mature beauty nothing like the girls who usually kneel before him. Suddenly, this is no longer just about pleasure. This is about his heart.

Aimee Eastman has rules. Rules for herself. Rules for her college photography students. Rules for the partners she submits to at private BDSM house parties. Then the hot young Dom who topped her last weekend walks into her classroom and all boundaries fly out the window—or would if she could just give up control. Like she wants. Like she needs. Then she and Wes might share forever.

Boroughs Publishing

 


 

image.jpegAbout the Author:

Sionna Fox has been writing stories her whole life. Her first book was about dinosaurs, and according to her mother, it was adorable. Sionna was late to the romance game, but hasn’t looked back since picking up the habit and firmly believes romance novels can save your life. She lives in New England with her very patient husband and a very put-upon dog.

 

Website  https://www.sionnafox.com/

Blog – https://www.sionnafox.com/blog

Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/sionnafox/

Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/sionnafox/

Twitter  https://twitter.com/sionnafox

Tumblr  https://sionnafox.tumblr.com/

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16588591.Sionna_Fox


 

Tour giveaway

2- $15 worth Boroughs Bucks

Click here to enter now!

 


Author Interview

1. When did you first start your writing career?

I started writing seriously around four years ago, and quit my day job to finish my first book at the beginning of 2016. I’ve always dabbled in storytelling in some form, and started college thinking I was going to focus on creative writing. I ditched my laptop for the darkroom sophomore year, but I still used narrative in my visual work. I started reading romance in my late twenties, and slowly started writing again.

2. What draws you to the type of romance you enjoy writing?

I started writing because I was having a hard time finding the stories I wanted as a reader. Especially as it relates to kink, I got tired of sex clubs and tortured billionaires with traumatic back-stories. I wanted the heroes and heroines to be normal people, with normal problems, who happened to be kinky. Once I started getting involved in Romancelandia, I found a lot more books like the ones I was looking for, but I still had stories to tell, so I kept writing.

3. What is your ideal writing time, place, and/or ritual?

Time is whenever I can get my butt in the chair around my day job, my husband, and my dog whining at me to go outside and eat grass. I prefer a quiet space. I’m better at mid-day than at night, and I need to be sufficiently caffeinated. I’m definitely a person who works better with a real deadline. It’s too easy to let myself off the hook.

4. Which authors would you say inspire you the most to write?

One of my first big “Aha!” moments was finding Delphine Dryden’s the Science of Temptation series. They’re sweet, funny, and super sexy. I’m also a huge fan of Tamsen Parker, whom I’m lucky enough to call a friend; Rebekah Weatherspoon writes great, sexy, kinky stories; Cecilia Tan has been out there writing kink since forever and kicking ass at it…I could do this all day. It’s one of the things I love most about romance writers and readers, we will unabashedly fangirl and give recs until we’re blue in the face.

5. Any advice for the budding authors out there?

Find your community. Whether it’s online or you join your local chapter of RWA or a writer’s group, find your people. Find cheerleaders, find critique partners, and know that those won’t always be the same people. Find the people who will sit in a restaurant bar for hours and talk process and deadlines and who will send you to bed at a conference when you’re falling asleep at the table. Writing is solitary, until it isn’t, surround yourself with people who get you for those times you have to come out of the writing cave.

 

Falling For You by Charlotte Blake (Cover Reveal)

Falling For You
Charlotte Blake
(Great Escapes, #1)
Publication date: September 12th 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Sometimes love finds you whether you want it to or not …

Grace Clark is a star at her job as an art director at Boston’s biggest advertising firm. But inside she’s still mourning the loss of her sister two years ago. Losing Mia and a failed engagement have been enough to keep her heart on lockdown ever since.

Luke Arnold is tired of relationships that don’t go anywhere. Usually women are all over him, but it’s been years since he’s met someone he could really fall for.

But when he sees Grace from across the room at the Redview Lodge, he can’t keep his eyes off her. They meet in the New Hampshire mountains over Thanksgiving, and they find in one another something that neither of them expected.

18+

NOTE: This STAND-ALONE romance contains very steamy love scenes. All of the books in the Great Escapes series can be read in any order.

Add to Goodreads

 

XBTBanner1

Holidays In The Hamptons by Sarah Morgan

Cover_Holiday in the Hamptons_Shara Morgan.jpg

Title: HOLIDAY IN THE HAMPTONS

Author: Sarah Morgan

Pub. Date: August 29, 2017

Publisher: Harlequin Books 

Pages: 384

Formats: Paperback, eBook, audiobook

Find it: AmazonAudibleBarnes&NobleiBooksTBDGoodreads

The perfect summer escape? 


Professional dog-walker Felicity Knight loves everything about New York…until her ex-husband starts working at her local vet clinic. She hasn’t seen Seth Carlyle in ten years, but one glimpse of him–too gorgeous, and still too good for her–and Fliss’s heart hurts like their whirlwind marriage ended yesterday. So when her grandmother in the Hamptons needs help for the summer, it seems the ideal way to escape her past.


Their relationship might have lasted only a few scorching months, but vet Seth knows Fliss–if she’s run away to the Hamptons, it’s because she still feels their connection and it terrifies her. He let her go once before, when he didn’t know any better, but not this summer! With the help of his adorable dog, Lulu, and a sprinkling of beachside magic, Seth is determined to make Fliss see that he’s never stopped loving her…


Sarah Morgan delights with more love and laughter in her acclaimed series From Manhattan with Love, which Publishers Weekly calls “engaging…a classic sweep-you-off-your-feet romantic experience.”


 

Sarah.jpgAbout Sarah Morgan:

USA Today bestselling author Sarah Morgan writes hot, happy contemporary romance and her trademark humour and sensuality have gained her fans across the globe. Described as ‘a magician with words’ by RT Book Reviews, she has sold over 15 million copies of her books. She has been nominated five times for the prestigious RITA© Award from the Romance Writers of America and won the award three times; in 2012 for her book ‘Doukakis’s Apprentice’, 2013 for ‘A Night of No Return’, and 2017 for ‘Miracle on 5th Avenue’. She also won the RT Reviewers’ Choice Award in 2012 and has made numerous appearances in their ‘Top Pick’ slot.

As a child Sarah dreamed of being a writer and although she took a few interesting detours along the way, she is now living that dream.

Sarah lives near London with her husband and children, and when she isn’t reading or writing she loves being outdoors, preferably on vacation so she can forget the house needs tidying.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads

Giveaway Details:

1 winner will receive a Kate Spade Beach Themed Prize Pack, US/Canada Only.

Click here to enter now!

 


Exerpt…

Harriet sighed. “Why? What are you trying to prove?”

“I’m not trying to prove anything. Is it wrong to want to grow the business?”

“No, if that’s what you really want, but I’d like taking the time to enjoy my job. I don’t always want to be rushing to the next thing. And if we expand, we’d have to find premises.”

“Way ahead of you. I thought we could look for something that also has space for an office. Then our apartment might not be flooded with paperwork and I might actually be able to find my bed. And the coffee machine.” She glanced from her phone to the stack of papers on the countertop. It seemed to grow every day. “There used to be a coffee machine hidden somewhere here. With luck I might find it before I die of caffeine withdrawal.”

“I moved it. I had to put it out of Sunny’s reach. He’s chewing everything he can find.” With the puppy still tucked under one arm, Harriet stood up. She pushed Fliss’s shoes to the side of the room and then walked to the kitchen and scooped up the papers. “There’s a message on the machine. I didn’t get to it in time. New business call.”

“I’ll call them back. I know you hate talking to strangers on the phone.” Fliss grabbed an energy bar from the cupboard and saw her twin frown. “Don’t look at me like that. At least I’m eating.”

“You could eat something wholesome.”

“This is wholesome.” She flicked the button on the coffee machine. “So going back to my plan—”

I like my own bed. We’d have to recruit, and that would be expensive. Could we even afford it?”

“If you’d been paying attention at our last company meeting, you wouldn’t be asking me that question.”

“Was that the ‘meeting’ where we had take-out pizza and I had to bottle-feed those kittens?”

“Same one.”

“Then I don’t think I gave you my full attention. Just give me the top line.”

“It’s the bottom line that should interest you, and the bottom line is looking good.” Fliss poured coffee into two mugs, her head buzzing. With each new success, the buzz seemed to grow. “Better than our wildest dreams.” She eyed her sister. “Not that you’re the wild-dream type.”

“Hey, I have wild dreams!”

“Are you naked in them and writhing on silk sheets with a hot, naked guy?”

Harriet turned pink. “No.”

“Then trust me, your dreams aren’t wild.” Fliss took a mouthful of coffee and felt the caffeine bounce through her system.

“My dreams are no less valid than yours just because the content is different.” Harriet settled the puppy in his basket. “Dreams are to do with wanting and needing.”

“As I said—naked, silk sheets, hot guy.”

“There are other types of wanting and needing. I’m not interested in a single night of sex.”

“Hey, if he was hot enough I’d be willing to stretch it out a few days, at least until we’re both dying of thirst or starvation.”

“How are you ever my twin?”

“I ask myself the same question frequently.” About as frequently as she counted her blessings. How did people survive without a twin? If her childhood had felt like being trapped in a windowless room, Harriet had been the oxygen. Together they’d discovered a problem really did seem smaller if it was shared, as if they could carry half each and make it weigh less. And if Fliss knew, deep down, that her sister shared more than she did, she comforted herself with the knowledge that she was protecting Harriet. It was something she’d done all her life. “It’s because I’m your twin that I know your dreams as well as I do my own. Yours would be a white clapboard beach house, picket fence, a sexy doctor who adores you and a menagerie of animals. Forget it. If you want that kind of relationship, you’re going to need to read about it in a book. And now back to business. I think the Bark Rangers could legitimately offer pet sitting and even possibly dog grooming and obedience training. Think of it as an extension of what we do. We can offer packages where we—”

“Wait a minute.” Harriet frowned. “Are you saying you think romance only exists in books?”

“The type of romance you want only exists in books.”

“You only have to look at our brother to know that isn’t true.”

“Daniel fell in love with Molly. There’s only one Molly. And they’re basically together because their dogs are best friends.” She caught her twin’s eye and shrugged. “All right, they seem happy, but they’re the exception, and it’s probably because Molly is a relationship expert. That gives her an unfair advantage over the rest of us.”

“Maybe instead of expanding the business, you could take more time for yourself. You’ve been working at top speed since we started this business. It’s been five years, and you’ve hardly paused to breathe.”

“Six years.” Fliss grabbed a yogurt out of the fridge. “And why would I want time to myself? I love being busy. Busy is my drug of choice. And I love our business. We have freedom. Choices.” She nudged the door shut with her bare foot and saw Harriet wince.

“I love our business, too, but I also like the parts of my life that have nothing to do with the business. You’ve made a huge success of it, Fliss.” She hesitated. “You don’t have anything to prove.”

“I’m not proving anything.” The lie slid off her tongue while the voice inside her head shouted more loudly than usual. Useless, worthless, never make anything of yourself…

“Don’t you ever want more out of life?”

“More?” Fliss thrust a spoon into the yogurt, deciding it was time she shifted the conversation. This was starting to feel uncomfortable. “I’m young, free, single and living in New York City. What more is there? I have the world at my feet. Life is perfect. I mean, seriously, could life be any more perfect?”

The Fix By Lisa Herrington (Review)

Contemporary Romance
Date Published: May 30, 2017
 
 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png
The lake town of Maisonville was better known as Renaissance Lake and most who moved there were looking to begin again.
 
Sydney Bell was no exception. Recovering from a divorce she needed to pick up the pieces of her life and start over.
 
Unfortunately, in her new town the handsome Ryan Gentry next door and Sydney are already butting heads.
 
When the real reason she moved to the lake is revealed, she’s reminded that a small town can heal your soul, sparring with an arrogant neighbor can build self-esteem, and true friendship has the ability to make you a better person.





About the Author



Lisa Herrington is a Women’s Fiction and YA novelist, blogger and speaker. A former medical sales rep, she currently manages the largest Meet-Up writing group in the New Orleans area, The Bayou Writer’s Club. She was born and raised in Louisiana, attended college at Ole Miss in Oxford, Mississippi and accepts that in New Orleans we never hide our crazy but instead parade it around on the front porch and give it a cocktail. It’s certainly why she has so many stories to tell today. When she’s not writing, and spending time with her husband and three children, she spends time reading, watching old movies or planning something new and exciting with her writer’s group.


Connect with Lisa, find out about new releases, and get free books at lisaherrington.com

Contact Links
 
Twitter or @lisadherrington
 
Purchase Links
 
*Free with Kindle Unlimited*

Review for The Fix

Right off the bat, Lisa Herrington takes her reader for a ride, all the way into Maisonville. In the book we meet Sydney and Ryan, two very polar opposites that butt heads over just about everything. Sydney has enough baggage to go around, but diving deeper into both her and Ryan’s backstories was a delight and very fascinating!

I loved their connection, though the characters sure didn’t notice it! What makes this story such a fun summer read is how light-hearted the book turns. It can be tough to write such an alpha like Sydney, but Herrington manages to make her not only easy to connect with, but also loveable and caring (another difficult task for any romance writer sometimes.)

Lisa Herrington’s The Fix is a wonderful read for anyone in the romance genre. I’ll definitely be checking out her other stories when I want to curl up on my couch with a good book and good company.

Rating: 4/5 Stars